Black Gold Farms
Charleston, Missouri
Charleston, Missouri
Phone: 573-683-3381
Fax: 573-683-6185
1521 State Hwy NN
Charleston, MO 63834
About Charleston, MO

The community:
Charleston is located in the Heartland, about 150 miles from St. Louis and just a few miles from the Mississippi River. Home to about 5,000 people, it is known for its beautiful Victorian era homes, which have been lovingly maintained over the years. The city celebrates the glorious display of dogwoods and azaleas each spring by hosting an annual festival featuring arts, crafts, tours, parades and lots of other entertainment.

Operations:
Southeast Missouri is known for an abundance of farmland, made especially rich for agriculture by centuries of flooding from the Mississippi River. The area is excellent for raising corn, wheat, cotton, soybeans, and of course, potatoes. Black Gold planted its first potato crop here in 1986, and today is the largest potato grower in the state. This was Black Gold's first farm outside of North Dakota. Acquired in 1987, it was established to supply potatoes for the big Fourth of July push. Since 2010 the Charleston location has also been a major sweet potato production area for Black Gold Farms. In 2013, a shed was built to store the sweet potato crop, then it is used for seed potatoes.

Employees:
Black Gold at Charleston has almost 10 full-time employees and adds approximately 35 seasonal employees during the harvest season.

Primary Contacts:
Jeff Spence, Farm Technician
Mobile: 573-620-5090
Email: jeff.spence@blackgoldfarms.com
View profile
James Murray, Farm Technician
Email: james.murray@blackgoldfarms.com
View profile
Michael Behrendt, Midwest Group Manager
Mobile: 573-620-1938
Email: mike.behrendt@blackgoldfarms.com
View profile
Jim Browning, Farm Manager
Email: jim.browning@blackgoldfarms.com
Chris Evans, Agronomist
Mobile: 573-620-1092
Email: chris.evans@blackgoldfarms.com
Nathan Surface, Equipment Specialist
Email: nathan.surface@blackgoldfarms.com
View profile
Robin Minner, Office Assistant
Email: robin.minner@blackgoldfarms.com
Michael Minner, Farm Technician
Email: michael.minner@blackgoldfarms.com
Jeff Humphrey, Farm Technician
Email: jeff.humphrey@blackgoldfarms.com
Bobby Kuykendall, Production Specialist
Email: bobby.kuykendall@blackgoldfarms.com